Project Description

Projects

Return to the overview

Space Debris Simulation Tools

We participate in the development of  demanding analysis tools based on our  experience in the area of space debris research and ESABASE2 development.

Together with the University of Padua, the “Collision Simulation Tool” (CST) was created for ESA. The software allows to  characterize debris clouds that are formed by collisions of two objects in space. Arbitrary object shapes and collision geometrics can be simulated and evaluated. The results are used in to improve models to describe the space debris population.

Under an ESA contract, etamax space analyses impact risks  to the space-based X-ray telescope ATHENA  due to micrometeoroidss.. Given the special construction  of X-ray  telescopes, dust particles can penetrate optical equipment and cause damage to sensitive detectors. While our partner, the Institute of Space Systems at the University of Stuttgart, performs experimental tests  on impact effects, we are developing a simulation model on the basis of results that describes damage caused on the surface upon impact as well as the generated debris clouds.

ESA provides the simulation tool DRAMA (Debris Risk Assessment and Mitigation Analysis) to examine compliance with  requirements regarding the mitigation  of space debris. In addition to another  analyses, DRAMA allows to determine the casualty risk posed to the world population by re-entering space objects. This simulation module was renewed and improved within the scope of the recently executed project. We were responsible for the new development of the risk calculation module and implementation of a completely new population model together with an international team. In addition, we were also in charge of the verification and validation of all new software modules.

Space Debris Simulation Tools

We participate in the developmentcreation of other demanding analysis tools based on our general experience in the area of space debris research and ESABASE2 development.

Together with the University of Padua, the “Collision Simulation Tool” (CST) was created for ESA. The software that allows to for the characterizeation of debris clouds that are formed by made upon the collisions of two objects in space. Arbitrary Any number of object shapess and collision geometrics can be simulated and evaluated. The rResults are used in subsequent studies to improve models to describe the space debris population.

<https://etamax.de/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/CST_ScreenshotWithLOFT.png” />

Under Also on behalf of an ESA contract, etamax space analyses impact risks deals with hazards to with the space-based Xx-ray telescope ATHENA suffers due to micrometeoroidsmicrometeorites. impact. Given the special construction structure of X-ray this telescopes, dust particles can penetrate optical equipment and cause damage to sensitive detectors. While our partner, the Institute of Space Systems at the University of Stuttgart, performs experimental tests examinations onregarding impact effects, we are developing a simulation model on the basis of results that describes damage caused on the surface upon impact as well as the generated debris clouds that form.

ESA provides the simulation tool DRAMA (Debris Risk Assessment and Mitigation Analysis) to examine compliance with fulfillment of requirements regarding the mitigation prevention of space debris. In addition to another diverse analyses, DRAMA allows it is possible to determine the casualty riskhazard posed to the world population by re-entering space objects. This simulation module was renewed and improved within the scope of the recently executed project. On the one hand, Wwe were responsible for the new development of the risk calculation module and implementation of a completely new population model together with an international team. In additionOn the other hand, we were also in charge of the verification and validation of all new software modules.

Details

Customer

ESA

Tasks
  • Development of demanding analysis tools
  • Development of simulation models for hazard analysis
  • Verification and validation
Tasks
  • Development of demanding analysis tools

  • Development of simulation models for hazard analysis

  • Verification and validation

Technologies and tools
  • CST
  • DRAMA
Technologies and tools
  • CST

  • DRAMA

DRAMA User Interface

Project Description

Projekte

Space Debris Simulation Tools

Basierend auf unseren generellen Erfahrungen auf dem Gebiet der Space-Debris-Forschung und in der ESABASE2-Entwicklung beteiligen wir uns an der Erstellung weiterer anspruchsvoller Analysewerkzeuge.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Padua ist im Auftrag der ESA das „Collision Simulation Tool“ (CST) entstanden, das es erlaubt, die bei der Kollision zweier Objekte im Weltraum entstehenden Trümmerwolken zu charakterisieren. Dabei können beliebige Objekte und Kollisionsgeometrien simuliert und ausgewertet werden. Die Ergebnisse dienen in nachfolgenden Studien dazu, Modelle zur Beschreibung der Space-Debris-Population zu verbessern.

Ebenfalls im ESA-Auftrag beschäftigt sich etamax space mit der Gefährdung des weltraumgestützten Röntgenteleskops ATHENA durch Mikrometeoroideneinschläge. Aufgrund des speziellen Aufbaus derartiger Teleskope können staubgroße Partikel in die Optik eindringen und Schäden an den empfindlichen Detektoren verursachen. Während unser Partner, das Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme an der Universität Stuttgart, experimentelle Untersuchungen der Einschlagseffekte durchführt, entwickeln wir auf Basis der Ergebnisse ein Simulationsmodell, das sowohl die an der Oberfläche beim Einschlag erzeugten Schäden als auch die entstehenden Trümmerwolken beschreibt. Mit diesem Modell wird es möglich sein, detaillierte Analysen zur Gefährdung von Röntgenteleskopen durchzuführen.

Zur Überprüfung der Erfüllung der Auflagen hinsichtlich der Vermeidung von Weltraummüll stellt die ESA das Simulationswerkzeug DRAMA (Debris Risk Assessment and Mitigation Analysis) zur Verfügung. Neben diversen anderen Analysen erlaubt es die Ermittlung der Gefährdung der Weltbevölkerung durch wiedereintretende Weltraumobjekte. Dieses Simulationsmodul wurde im Rahmen eines kürzlich durchgeführten Projekts erneuert und verbessert. In einem multinationalen Team waren wir zum einen für die Neuentwicklung des Risikoberechnungsmoduls und die Implementierung eines völlig neuen Bevölkerungsmodells zuständig. Zum anderen oblag uns die Verifizierung und Validierung aller neuen Softwaremodule.

Space Debris Simulation Tools

Basierend auf unseren generellen Erfahrungen auf dem Gebiet der Space-Debris-Forschung und in der ESABASE2-Entwicklung beteiligen wir uns an der Erstellung weiterer anspruchsvoller Analysewerkzeuge.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Padua ist im Auftrag der ESA das „Collision Simulation Tool“ (CST) entstanden, das es erlaubt, die bei der Kollision zweier Objekte im Weltraum entstehenden Trümmerwolken zu charakterisieren. Dabei können beliebige Objekte und Kollisionsgeometrien simuliert und ausgewertet werden. Die Ergebnisse dienen in nachfolgenden Studien dazu, Modelle zur Beschreibung der Space-Debris-Population zu verbessern.

<https://www.etamax.de/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/CST_ScreenshotWithLOFT.png” />

Ebenfalls im ESA-Auftrag beschäftigt sich etamax space mit der Gefährdung des weltraumgestützten Röntgenteleskops ATHENA durch Mikrometeoroideneinschläge. Aufgrund des speziellen Aufbaus derartiger Teleskope können staubgroße Partikel in die Optik eindringen und Schäden an den empfindlichen Detektoren verursachen. Während unser Partner, das Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme an der Universität Stuttgart, experimentelle Untersuchungen der Einschlagseffekte durchführt, entwickeln wir auf Basis der Ergebnisse ein Simulationsmodell, das sowohl die an der Oberfläche beim Einschlag erzeugten Schäden als auch die entstehenden Trümmerwolken beschreibt. Mit diesem Modell wird es möglich sein, detaillierte Analysen zur Gefährdung von Röntgenteleskopen durchzuführen.

Zur Überprüfung der Erfüllung der Auflagen hinsichtlich der Vermeidung von Weltraummüll stellt die ESA das Simulationswerkzeug DRAMA (Debris Risk Assessment and Mitigation Analysis) zur Verfügung. Neben diversen anderen Analysen erlaubt es die Ermittlung der Gefährdung der Weltbevölkerung durch wiedereintretende Weltraumobjekte. Dieses Simulationsmodul wurde im Rahmen eines kürzlich durchgeführten Projekts erneuert und verbessert. In einem multinationalen Team waren wir zum einen für die Neuentwicklung des Risikoberechnungsmoduls und die Implementierung eines völlig neuen Bevölkerungsmodells zuständig. Zum anderen oblag uns die Verifizierung und Validierung aller neuen Softwaremodule.

Details

Kunde

ESA

Aufgaben
  • Entwicklung anspruchsvoller Analysewerkzeuge
  • Entwicklung von Simulationsmodellen zur Gefahrenanalyse
  • Verifizierung und Validierung
Aufgaben
  • Entwicklung anspruchsvoller Analysewerkzeuge

  • Entwicklung von Simulationsmodellen zur Gefahrenanalyse

  • Verifizierung und Validierung

Techniken und Werkzeuge
  • CST
  • DRAMA
Techniken und Werkzeuge
  • CST

  • DRAMA

DRAMA User Interface